add readme
authorIan Kelling <ian@iankelling.org>
Mon, 15 Aug 2016 06:21:01 +0000 (23:21 -0700)
committerIan Kelling <ian@iankelling.org>
Mon, 15 Aug 2016 07:04:34 +0000 (00:04 -0700)
README [new file with mode: 0644]
cedit

diff --git a/README b/README
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..279bfe3
--- /dev/null
+++ b/README
@@ -0,0 +1,8 @@
+The main documentation is availiable via --help and near the top of the
+bash script file next to this file.
+
+The script file can be stripped of the last line and used as a function
+instead of a script.
+
+Please email me if you have a patches, bugs, feedback, or republish this
+somewhere else: Ian Kelling <ian@iankelling.org>.
diff --git a/cedit b/cedit
index d04f587..7fbf743 100755 (executable)
--- a/cedit
+++ b/cedit
 
 cedit() {
     local help="Usage: [-h|--help ] [-v] [SECTION_NAME] FILE
-Create/edit a #comment delimited section of a file
+Create/modify a section in a config file
 
-Reads STDIN for the contents of the section. Without SECTION_NAME, it
-acts on a global unnamed section. cedit is short for config edit.
+The section is #comment delimited. Reads STDIN for the contents of the
+section. Without SECTION_NAME, it acts on a global unnamed
+section. cedit is short for config edit.
 
 -v         Verbose
 -h|--help  Help"